Reading (Comics) Is Fundamental

Those old RIF PSA’s ringing in my head as I decide to talk about what led me to appreciate comic art in the first place: Reading.  Comic Books were how I learned to appreciate reading, how to love reading. I read any and all comics I could get my hands on from the comics on my favorite toys, shows and movies like G.I. Joe, Transformers and Star Wars that eventually served as my gateway drug to the world of super hero comics.

I knew about Spider-Man, and Superman, and Batman, and Captain America as a young boy having followed whatever adventures lived through syndicated television and sure the colorful comics I saw caught my eye but until you get that all important allowance or paper route comics weren’t as accessible 20-30 years ago as they are today.

Now I am well versed in the Marvel canon and can teach courses on the history of the Marvel Universe both fictional and the real life history from the creators point of view. Lately I found myself wanting to read more and learn about how other creators told their stories so I decided to embark on a reading tour of all things comics not published by Marvel. There’s tons of good reading out there. I’ll talk about some of my favorite indie reads in an upcoming post but right now I’d like to focus on DC.

 

I have always loved DC's Sci-Fi super-heroes like Adam Strange and Captain Comet.

For me I have always had a working knowledge of the DC Universe and collected and read the comics in the 80’s and 90’s with many of my favorite titles including Batman, Detective, Swamp Thing, Animal Man and Vigilante.  I am a sucker for the old school stuff. I love the nostalgic Golden and Silver Age stories and characters but I just never got further than Green Lantern and Atom’s early adventures in Showcase comics with regard to DC. Now I have my collection deeply invested with Marvel Comics with many near complete runs of all the major titles. I don’t have the financial resources nor the space to start up a DC collection. However, since I love original comic art and the beauty of the black and white pen and ink page I have decided to start reading all of the DC classics from the start in their line of Showcase Presents trade paperbacks. Low risk, high reward if I like the stories and I can get them in bulk for a low price. If I don’t like a book it just cost me the price of a paperback. I am starting out with some old favorites that I am currently enjoying like Adam Strange with Superman and Green Lantern on deck but I am casting out to my comics friends in cyber space. What titles do you recommend? What should I be reading in DC canon and what will I not be able to put down? I’d love your feedback as I continue to…

Panel Surf,

JV

    • Alex Johnson
    • October 28th, 2010

    Showcase Presents: Bat Lash
    at Lash wonderful stories and lush Cardy art. You also get to see Sergio in jail if you look closely.

    Showcase Presents: Legion of Super-Heroes, Vol. 1-4
    BLSH – Shooter/Swan great stuff.

    • Good suggestions Alex, thanks! I have long been a Legion of Superheroes fan and Showcase will afford me the chance to read up on their long history!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

